Board of Directors 2013-2014

Profile of our Directorship

The Deposit Insurance Fund is administered by a Board of seven (7) Directors: four (4) of whom are elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Deposit Insurance Fund and three (3) whom are appointed by the elected Board of Directors.

At present, members of the Board are as follows:




President Mr Jacinto Martinez

Mr. Jacinto Martinez has been a Director at the Trinidad and Tobago Credit Union Deposit Insurance Fund Co-operative Society Limited for the past 3 years. He is the Treasurer/Manager of Textel Credit Union Co-operative Society Limited. Mr. Martinez is the Branch Manager of Sagicor Life Insurance – Central/East. He is the Chairman of Tosado Limited, and has a wealth of experience in Credit Union Management, Financial planning and Insurance Protection.




Vice President Kester Husbands


Mr. Kester Husbands is the Vice-President of the Trinidad and Tobago Credit Union Deposit Insurance Fund Co-operative Society Limited. He is the President of Aero Services Credit Union Co-operative Society Limited, a position he has held for the past 7 years and has been on the Board of Directors of that Credit Union for the past 13 years.

He had been a member of the Audit Committee of the Deposit Insurance for a period of 3 years before becoming a Board member. His involvement in the Credit Union Sector spans a period of 23 years. He is pursuing a Degree in Management Studies at the University of the West Indies. 





Secretary Dr Anthony Elias

Dr. Anthony Elias has been on the Board of Directors of the Deposit Insurance Fund since 2000 and was Vice President during the period 2002 – 2007.  He graduated with a medical degree from the University of the West Indies in 1979. He also has a Masters in Business Administration (MBA). Dr. Elias is an executive Director of the Trinidad Cement Employees Credit Union Co-operative Society and has been on its Board of Directors since 1989. He is a former Director of the Co-operative Credit Union League of Trinidad and Tobago and former President of the Central Financing Facility. He was also a former Chairman of National Flour Mills Limited.





Mr Horace Leach   Director


Consultant Director Mr Robert Mayers

Mr. Robert Mayers is an alumnus of Queen’s Royal College and the UWI, Mona campus, where he majored in Mathematics and Economics. He is a registered Stockbroker and Investment Consultant with over 29 years experience in securities markets having worked at many leading brokerage firms in Trinidad and Tobago.  He has extensive experience in securities trading, portfolio management and fund management. His experience in Caribbean financial matters spanning almost three (3) decades, started off when he left the teaching profession and joined T&T Stocks and Shares Limited as a Senior Analyst. He later moved to General Stockbrokers Limited, eventually becoming Corporate Secretary/Director there before moving on as an Investment Consultant to Securities & Investment Brokers Limited and Money Managers Limited.

In March, 2000, he became involved in the start-up operations of Caribbean Money Market Brokers Limited (CMMB) as part of the leadership team and assumed the position of Managing Director of CMMB Securities Limited in April, 2002. In 2007, he was appointed Managing Director of CMMB until his retirement at the end of February, 2009.


Consultant Director Mr Hugh Edwards

Mr. Hugh L. Edwards is presently the Corporate Secretary/Consultant at Issa Nicholas Holdings Limited. He was appointed a Consultant Director at the Trinidad and Tobago Credit Union Stabilization Fund Co-operative Society Limited in 2009. He was also the General Manager/CEO of the Trinidad & Tobago Stock Exchange Ltd for the period August 1982 – December 2007 and prior to returning to Trinidad and Tobago was Examiner & Senior Enforcement Investigator at the New York Stock Exchange and worked at American Express – New York for 5 years. Mr. Edwards, who has a Degree in Accounting, is no stranger to the Credit Union Movement as has served as President of Diego Martin Credit Union for three (3) years. Mr. Edwards is a former lecturer at the University of the West Indies in Accounting, Financial Management and Financial Planning.


Mr Nigel Hewitt   Consultant Director